Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

Celebrating Ouir Local Heroes

Rep. Frank R. Wolf

legislator photo

Mr. Speaker, it is my honor to salute the Dulles Regional Chamber of Commerce and the fine people being recognized at its annual awards gala, So Proudly We Hail--Celebrating Our Local Heroes.

The Dulles Regional Chamber is located in one of the top technology corridors in the nation and is the largest chamber in Fairfax County. Each year it recognizes first responders in the region who have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

This year's honorees are Capt. Kathleen Stanley with Fairfax County's International Urban Search and Rescue and the late Sgt. Phillip Farley with the Herndon Police Department.

Capt. Stanley has served the citizens of Fairfax County for nearly 20 years, most recently in Battalion 401 which serves the Reston/Herndon area of Fairfax County. In 2010, she deployed with the county's Urban Search and Rescue team to Haiti, where she served for the entire deployment as a medical specialist, often administering care to patients critically injured in the earthquake.

Sgt. Farley is being recognized for his contributions from 2001 to 2010 to the Herndon Police Department. Because of his efforts, the Herndon Police Department is one of the first law enforcement agencies in northern Virginia to implement a seamless transition in its electronic records management, computer aided dispatch and mobile computer terminals to enable effective communication and records management solutions. Sgt. Farley also was instrumental in the research and testing of the department's transition from revolvers to automatic weapons. In addition, he introduced scenario-based training to coincide with annual range training.

In addition to recognizing local first responders, the chamber invited and saluted seven service men for their contributions to our country. They are: Chief Warrant Officer 5 Bradley Garfield, U.S. Marine Corps; 1st Sgt Michael Barrett, U.S. Marine Corps; Gunnery Sgt. Alain Frederique, U.S. Marine Corps; Gunnery Sgt. Josue Magana, U.S. Marine Corps; Staff Sgt. Hugh Davis, U.S. Army Reserve, retired; Technical Sgt. Christopher Frost, U.S. Air Force, and Sgt. John Eubanks, U.S. Marine Corps.

Mr. Speaker, please join me in recognizing the accomplishments of these honorees. We owe them all our thanks.