Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

Honoring The Honorees Of The Bangor Region Chamber Of Commerce Awards

Rep. Michael H. Michaud

legislator photo

Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize the Honorees of the 2012 Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce Annual Awards Dinner. Founded in 1911, the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce serves Bangor and 21 surrounding communities. The positive economic effects of the Bangor Chamber's committed advocacy can always be felt throughout the state.

Each year, the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce recognizes local businesses, business leaders, and individuals who promote and advance a vital and healthy business environment. These individuals and businesses are committed to strengthening opportunity and prosperity in Maine.

This year's award recipients include John Bragg of N.H Bragg, recipient of the Norbert X. Dowd Award; Habib Dagher of the University of Maine, recipient of the Catherine Lebowitz Award for Public Service; Nelson Durgin, recipient of the Arthur A. Comstock Professional Service Award; Sutherland Weston Marking Communications, recipient of the Bion and Dorain Foster Entrepreneurship Award; Cross Insurance, recipient of the Business of the Year Award; Bill Lucy and Peoples United Bank, recipient of the Community Service Award; Maine Discovery Museum, recipient of the Non-Profit of the Year Award; Bangor Greendrinks, recipient of the FLAVA (Fusion Leadership and Vision Award); and Husson Hospitality Program, recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award.

These nine recipients are among the best that Maine has to offer. Through their leadership and incredible commitment to the communities and the region, Maine is a better place to live and do business.

Mr. Speaker, please join me again in congratulating the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce and these individuals on their outstanding service and achievement.