Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

Breese Central Champions

Rep. John Shimkus

legislator photo

Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the Breese Central High School Cougars upon winning the 2012 IHSA Class 2A Boys' State Basketball Championship.

This victory is the perfect end to a remarkable season, in which the Cougars recorded 32 wins and only one loss. The Cougars beat the South Holland Sting to advance to the championship game, where they defeated the Normal Pioneers 53 47 and earned their first state championship.

I would like to recognize Head Coach Stan Eagleson, Assistant Coaches David Thomas, Kurt Peters, Jeremy Shubert, Donny Petterson, and Ryan Meyer, Trainer Marty Stewart, and the players themselves: Justin Becker, Brandon Book, Nick Grapperhaus, Tanner Imming, Luke Jackson, Greg Meyer, Luis Perez, Austin Rickhoff, Kyler Scheer, Andrew Schulte, Noah Stockmann, Gavin Thomas, and Jacob Timmermann.

Congratulations to the Breese Central Cougars for their championship and their incredible season. I look forward to next season, and I wish them all the best in their future endeavors.