Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

Business Risk Mitigation And Price Stabilization Act Of 2012

The unfinished business is the vote on the motion to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 2682) to provide end user exemptions from certain provisions of the Commodity Exchange Act and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and for other purposes, as amended, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from New Jersey (Mr. Garrett) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, as amended.

This is a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were--yeas 370, nays 24, not voting 37, as follows:

[Roll No. 128] YEAS--370 Ackerman Adams Aderholt Alexander Altmire Amash Amodei Andrews Austria Baca Bachmann Bachus Baldwin Barletta Barrow Bartlett Barton (TX) Bass (CA) Bass (NH) Becerra Benishek Berg Berkley Biggert Bilbray Bilirakis Bishop (GA) Bishop (NY) Black Blackburn Blumenauer Bonamici Bonner Bono Mack Boren Boswell Boustany Brady (PA) Brady (TX) Braley (IA) Brooks Broun (GA) Buchanan Bucshon Burgess Burton (IN) Butterfield Calvert Camp Canseco Cantor Capito Capps Capuano Cardoza Carnahan Carney Carson (IN) Carter Cassidy Castor (FL) Chabot Chaffetz Chandler Chu Clarke (MI) Clarke (NY) Clay Cleaver Clyburn Coble Coffman (CO) Cole Conaway Connolly (VA) Cooper Costello Courtney Cravaack Crawford Crenshaw Critz Crowley Cuellar Culberson Cummings Davis (CA) Davis (IL) Davis (KY) DeFazio DeGette DeLauro Denham Dent DesJarlais Diaz-Balart Doggett Dold Dreier Duffy Duncan (SC) Duncan (TN) Edwards Ellison Ellmers Emerson Engel Eshoo Farenthold Farr Fattah Fincher Fitzpatrick Flake Fleischmann Fleming Fortenberry Foxx Frank (MA) Franks (AZ) Frelinghuysen Fudge Gallegly Garamendi Gardner Garrett Gerlach Gibbs Gibson Gingrey (GA) Gohmert Gonzalez Goodlatte Gosar Gowdy Granger Graves (GA) Graves (MO) Green, Al Green, Gene Griffin (AR) Griffith (VA) Grimm Guinta Guthrie Hahn Hall Hanabusa Hanna Harper Harris Hartzler Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Hayworth Heck Hensarling Herger Herrera Beutler Higgins Himes Hinojosa Hochul Holden Holt Honda Hoyer Huelskamp Huizenga (MI) Hultgren Hunter Hurt Israel Issa Jenkins Johnson (OH) Johnson, E. B. Johnson, Sam Jordan Keating Kind King (IA) King (NY) Kingston Kinzinger (IL) Kline Labrador Lamborn Lance Lankford Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Latham LaTourette Latta Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lipinski LoBiondo Loebsack Lofgren, Zoe Long Lowey Lucas Luetkemeyer Lujan Lummis Lungren, Daniel E. Lynch Maloney Manzullo Marino Matheson Matsui McCarthy (CA) McCaul McClintock McCollum McCotter McDermott McHenry McKeon McKinley McMorris Rodgers McNerney Meehan Meeks Mica Michaud Miller (FL) Miller (MI) Miller, Gary Moore Moran Mulvaney Murphy (CT) Murphy (PA) Myrick Napolitano Neugebauer Noem Nunes Nunnelee Olson Olver Owens Palazzo Pallone Pastor (AZ) Paulsen Pearce Pelosi Pence Perlmutter Peters Peterson Petri Pingree (ME) Pitts Platts Poe (TX) Polis Pompeo Posey Price (GA) Price (NC) Quayle Quigley Rahall Reed Rehberg Renacci Ribble Richardson Richmond Rigell Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rokita Rooney Ros-Lehtinen Roskam Ross (AR) Ross (FL) Rothman (NJ) Roybal-Allard Royce Runyan Ruppersberger Ryan (OH) Ryan (WI) Sanchez, Linda T. Sanchez, Loretta Sarbanes Scalise Schakowsky Schiff Schilling Schmidt Schock Schrader Schwartz Schweikert Scott (SC) Scott (VA) Scott, Austin Scott, David Sensenbrenner Sessions Sewell Sherman Shimkus Shuler Shuster Simpson Sires Slaughter Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Southerland Speier Stearns Stivers Stutzman Sullivan Sutton Terry Thompson (CA) Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tiberi Tipton Tonko Tsongas Turner (NY) Turner (OH) Upton Van Hollen Visclosky Walberg Walden Walsh (IL) Walz (MN) Wasserman Schultz Waters Watt Waxman Webster Welch West Westmoreland Whitfield Wilson (FL) Wilson (SC) Wittman Wolf Womack Woodall Woolsey Yarmuth Yoder Young (AK) Young (FL) Young (IN) NAYS--24 Berman Cicilline Cohen Conyers Deutch Dingell Filner Grijalva Hinchey Hirono Kaptur Kildee Kucinich Langevin Lee (CA) Markey McGovern Miller (NC) Miller, George Nadler Serrano Stark Tierney Velazquez NOT VOTING--37 Akin Bishop (UT) Brown (FL) Buerkle Campbell Costa Dicks Donnelly (IN) Doyle Flores Forbes Gutierrez Heinrich Jackson (IL) Jackson Lee (TX) Johnson (GA) Johnson (IL) Jones Kelly Kissell Landry Mack Marchant McCarthy (NY) McIntyre Neal Nugent Pascrell Paul Rangel Reichert Reyes Rivera Rohrabacher Rush Thompson (MS) Towns {time} 1903

Mr. CICILLINE changed his vote from ``yea'' to ``nay.''

So (two-thirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the bill, as amended, was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

Rep. Todd Akin

legislator photo

Madam Speaker, on rollcall Nos. 127 and 128, I would have voted ``yes.''

Rep. Timothy V. Johnson

legislator photo

Madam Speaker, on Monday, March 26, 2012, I had a previously scheduled meeting with small business owners in Champaign, Illinois. As a result, I am unable to attend to attend votes this evening. Had I been present, I would have voted ``aye'' on H.R. 2779--To exempt inter-affiliate swaps from certain regulatory requirements put in place by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act; ``aye'' on H.R. 2682, the Business Risk Mitigation and Price Stabilization Act of 2011.