Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

Flyers Keep North Carolina Basketball In The Spotlight

Rep. Howard Coble

legislator photo

Mr. Speaker, North Carolina has a long and distinguished list of college basketball National Champions. This year, however, there is only one school from the Old North State that will earn the right to hoist a National Championship banner. No, I do not mean the North Carolina State University Wolfpack, nor the Duke University Blue Devils and not even the University of North Carolina Tarheels. Please join me, Mr. Speaker, in congratulating the Sandhills Community College Flyers upon their rise to the 2012 National Junior College Athletic Association Division III Championship.

Their 30 6 season ended with a commanding defeat of Cedar Valley College, from Dallas, Texas, by a score of 101 86. Outstanding play from Guard Daquain Towns, tournament MVP, and the tremendous coaching of Mike Apple led the Flyers, in only their third season, past teams in the play-offs from the Bronx, New York, Brookdale, New Jersey, and Prince George's County, Maryland. On March 17, the Sandhills Flyers became the first team from North Carolina to win a Division III National Championship and our office is proud to represent this fine group of young men. Each member of the Flyers deserves recognition for this outstanding achievement and they are:

Michael Collins, TJ Gill, Raheem Jolliffe, Chris Morrison, Daquain Towns, Dre Huntley, Chris Vinson, Trevor Cole, Mike Dorsey, Raheem Washington, Michael Robinson, TJ Jones, Tramaine Pride, Louis Craft, Kermeriaz Harrington, Erick Ewing, Markell Lotharp, Demontre Jones.

Coach: Mike Apple.

Athletic Director: Aaron Denton.

Congratulations also go out to Dr. John Dempsey and the Sandhills Community College family for putting together an organization that preserves North Carolina's premier basketball tradition while adding a new National Champion to our history books.