Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

Recognizing The Billings State Championship

Rep. Billy Long

legislator photo

Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the young gentlemen of the Billings Wildcats Boys Basketball Team for winning the Missouri Class 2 State Championship.

The Wildcats have a philosophy built around teamwork and a desire to be champions. These talented young men, Kaleb Harter, Connor Jenisch, Nathan Blades, Brady Chastain, Austin Essick, Chad Yeokum, Dawson Meyer, Lane Truman, Sawyer Hawkins, and Seth Haggerman are the true definition of a team. Through their hard work and dedication they won the Missouri Class 2 State Championship.

Coach Kendall Tilley and his talented coaching staff should be proud of their accomplishment in guiding such a phenomenal group of young men. I commend them all on a job well done.

The Wildcats had a wild final with their opponent rallying multiple times, but Billings held fast and came out on top. In the end, the Wildcats refused to lose. They ended with a 29 3 record.

The Billings community is justifiably proud of the extraordinary group of young and talented future leaders on the Wildcats Basketball Team.

I urge my colleagues to join me in congratulating the Billings Wildcats Basketball Team, the Missouri Class 2 State Champions.