Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Compare 2013

Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '15

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
50Th Anniversary Of The Voting Rights Act August 6, 2015
Benjamin Cardin, D-MD
"I am a proud co-sponsor of Senator Leahy’s legislation, S. 1659, the Voting Rights Advancement Act of 2015. The Voting Rights Advancement Act of 2015 responds to current conditions in voting today by restoring the full protections of the original, bipartisan Voting Rights Act of 1965, which was last reauthorized on a bipartisan vote by Congress in 2006, but significantly weakened by the Supreme Court in 2013."
Statements On Introduced Bills And Joint Resolutions August 5, 2015
Barbara Boxer, D-CA
"Mr. President, I am pleased to reintroduce the Pechanga Band of Luiseno Mission Indians Water Rights Settlement Act of 2013. This legislation will implement a settlement concerning the water rights of the Pechanga Band of Luiseno Mission Indians, who have been engaged for several decades in a struggle for recognition and protection of their federally reserved groundwater rights."
Tribute To Jim Rutledge August 5, 2015
Mitch McConnell, R-KY
"In 2007, Jim received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Malt Advocate Magazine, and in 2008, the leading liquor industry publication, Whisky Magazine, named him the Ambassador of the Year for American Whiskies as part of their annual Icons of Whisky Awards. Jim was also inducted into Whisky Magazine’s Hall of Fame in 2013. He was only the second American inducted into this elite group."
Appropriations August 5, 2015
Barbara Mikulski, D-MD
"It is not just care that is shortchanged. Sequester budgeting means hospitals and clinics continue to deteriorate. The VA has identified between $10 billion and $12 billion of backlogged code violations and deficiencies at hospitals and clinics across the country. In fiscal year 2013, the VA spent $1.3 billion repairing clinics, but for fiscal year 2016 the Republican bills cut funding in half, even as the backlog grows."
Finance Committee’S Report On Its Investigation Of The Irs August 5, 2015
Orrin Hatch, R-UT
"The investigation officially began on May 21, 2013, under the direction of former Chairman Max Baucus and myself, when I was the ranking member. When Senator Wyden assumed the leadership of the committee last year, he agreed to continue the bipartisan work we had begun, and I am very grateful to him. This bipartisan cooperation has continued unabated since I became chairman in January of this year. That investigation concludes today with the release of our report."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party