Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14
  11. '16

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Tribute To Jordan Smith December 17, 2015
Mitch McConnell, R-KY
"I know I speak for my fellow Kentuckians when I say we are so proud to have someone like Jordan representing our State. This proud Kentucky Wildcat fan not only clinched a first place win in the competition, he also rose to a No. 1 spot on iTunes for record sales, beating out superstars like Adele. I think we have so many talented individuals like Jordan in Kentucky, and I am so glad that everyone else thinks so, too."
Remembering Dr. Jim Sampson October 28, 2015
Ron Wyden, D-OR
"Jim was a valued and loved leader, a healer, and a family man worthy of emulation. With a full and loving heart and an ambitious mindset, Jim selflessly served Oregon and the Nation. While Jim will be remembered by those whose lives he touched, he will especially be remembered as a loving husband and partner of 47 years to Geof Beasley; dedicated father to daughter Adele; and caring brother to sisters, Miriam Tillman and Elizabeth Martin, and brother, George. I honor the esteemed life and career of Dr. Jim Sampson and thank him for his enduring legacy."
Ensuring Tax Exempt Organizations The Right To Appeal Act May 20, 2015
Rand Paul, R-KY
"There is another reason the DEA would rather not admit the involvement of NSA data in their investigations. It might lead to a constitutional challenge to the very law that gave rise to the evidence. Earlier this year, federal courts said that if law enforcement agencies wanted to use NSA data in court, they had to say so beforehand and give the defendant a chance to contest the legality of the surveillance. Lawyers for Adele Daoud, who was arrested in a federal sting operation and charged, suspect that he was identified using NSA information but were never told. Surveys show most people support the NSA’s bulk surveillance program strongly when the words “terrorism” or “courts” are included in the question. When pollsters draw no connection to terrorism, the support tends to wane. What will happen when the question makes clear that the intelligence not only isn’t being used for terrorism investigations against foreign agents, but it is actively being applied to criminal investigations against Americans?"
Recognizing Royal Studios As The Recording Home Of The Billboard Hot 100 #1 Hit, Uptown Funk April 22, 2015
Steve Cohen, D-TN
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize Royal Studios in Memphis, Tennessee for recording Uptown Funk, which has topped the Billboard Hot 100 for fourteen weeks and counting, marking the single as the longest-leading Billboard Hot 100 of the 2010s. Additionally, Uptown Funk’s fourteenth week makes it only the Billboard’s eighth single since the chart began in 1958 to hold the top spot for at least as long and places it in a seven-way tie for the second longest #1 hit in the history of the Chart. The only single among this elite group of eight to surpass Uptown Funk has held the #1 spot for sixteen weeks. The single also leads the Hot 100’s Digital Songs, Radio Songs and Streaming Songs charts. In a raving endorsement of Uptown Funk’s popularity, First Lady Michelle Obama with cast from the show “So You Think You Can Dance” performed a choreographed dance to the song as part of her “Let’s Move!” initiative on the Ellen DeGeneres Show and at this year’s White House Easter Egg Roll. The collaboration between Uptown Funk writer Mark Ronson, singer Bruno Mars and Royal Studios has swept the music scene in America and abroad, and has given listeners around the world a taste of the soulful sound that is unique to Memphis. Uptown Funk is an example of born-and-bred Memphis musical talent. Ronson, a Grammy-winning artist and a noted producer for talents such as Adele and the late Amy Winehouse, traveled to Memphis in February 2014 looking to recruit singers for his music project. It was then that he visited Royal Studios and met owner Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell, the son of Memphis music legend and producer, Willie Mitchell, and decided to record at the iconic studio. Ronson enlisted Philip Lawrence and notable Royal Studios familiars Steve Jordan, Willie Weeks, Kevin Parker, Trombone Shorty, Mystikal and Michael Chabon to work on the single. Uptown Funk also features Bruno Mars’s band member and Memphian, Kameron Whalum, who is the son of Pastor Kenneth Whalum of Olivet Baptist Church in Memphis and the nephew of Grammy-winning saxophonist Kirk Whalum. The success of Uptown Funk is the latest chapter in the long and storied history of Royal Studios, one of the oldest music recording studios in the world. Housed originally in a movie theater built in 1915, Royal Studios was founded in 1957 and became the home of Hi Records and the Hi Rhythm Section. Since that time, numerous acclaimed artists have recorded there, including Willie Mitchell, Al Green, Ann Peebles, Bobby Blue Bland, Elton John, Robert Plant, Snoop Dogg and many others. The studio has also recorded for Hollywood films including Opportunity Knocks, Pulp Fiction, Good Will Hunting, The Book of Eli, Love Jones, Six Feet Under and other films and television shows. Uptown Funk marks Royal Studios’ first #1 hit since Al Green’s 1972 Let’s Stay Together and the first Billboard 100 Hit out of Memphis since the 1976 hit Disco Duck by Rick Dees. Uptown Funk continues Royal Studios’ long tradition of musical excellence and showing the world what Memphis has to offer. I ask all of my colleagues to join me in recognizing Memphis’ Royal Studios as the recording home for the Billboard-chart topping single, Uptown Funk, and the dedicated work of Mark Ronson, Bruno Mars, Kameron Whalum, Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell and the entire Royal Studios family in producing a single with such a soulful Memphis sound that has reached listeners worldwide. Many people have noted that Uptown Funk will be one of the hottest hits this summer. If you don’t believe them, just watch."
Honoring Adele Woods, Ceo Coos County Family Health Services April 13, 2015
Ann Kuster, D-NH
"Mr. Speaker, today I rise to honor Adele Woods from New Hampshire’s Second Congressional District, who is retiring after 33 years of service at Coos County Family Health Services."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party