Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14
  11. '16

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Virgin Islands Of The United States Centennial Commission Act April 26, 2016
Stacey Plaskett, D-VI
"Virgin Islanders have played an integral role in the history of this Nation well before we were even part of this country. From its inception and beyond, activists and politicians, David Levy Yulee, the first Jewish United States Senator; Denmark Vesey, leader of the Charleston, South Carolina, slave revolt; Judah Benjamin, Secretary of Treasury of the Confederate Army, are all Virgin Islanders."
Introduction Of The Civil War Defenses Of Washington National Historical Park Act April 12, 2016
Eleanor Norton, D-DC
"The Civil War Defenses of Washington were constructed at the beginning of the war, in 1861, as a ring of protection for the nation’s capital and for President Abraham Lincoln. By the end of the war, these defenses included 68 forts, 93 unarmed batteries, 807 mounted cannons, 13 miles of rifle trenches, and 32 miles of military roads. The major test of the Civil War Defenses of Washington came with the Shenandoah Valley Campaign of 1864, when Confederate Lieutenant General Jubal Early, directed by General Robert E. Lee, sought to attack the nation’s capital from the north, causing Union Forces threatening to attack Richmond, the capital of the Confederacy, to be withdrawn. General Early was delayed by Union Major General Lew Wallace at the Battle of Monocacy on July 9, 1864, and was stopped at the northern edge of Washington at the Battle of Fort Stevens on July 11-12, 1864. The Shenandoah Valley Campaign ended when Union Lieutenant General Philip Sheridan defeated General Early at the Battle of Cedar Creek, Virginia, on October 19, 1864."
Remembering Senator Bumpers January 7, 2016
Bruce Westerman, R-AR
"He went on to serve on the local school board before mounting multiple successful bids for statewide office. Charleston Public School District is not only known for producing stellar graduates and for the Tigers’ powerhouse football program, but for heeding Dale Bumpers’ advice in 1954 and becoming the first public school in the former Confederate States to desegregate."
Recognizing The 2015 Honorees Of The Fairfax County Branch Of The Naacp December 10, 2015
Gerald Connolly, D-VA
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the 2015 Honorees of the Fairfax County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). The Fairfax Branch is recognized as the NAACP’s first rural chapter. In 1915, a few brave African American citizens in Falls Church, Virginia, fought a proposed ordinance that would have segregated housing. They called themselves the Colored Citizens Protective League (CCPL) and the group evolved to become the Fairfax County Branch of the NAACP. Since its inception, the NAACP has promoted equal rights and justice for all and has shown a spotlight on issues of great importance including civil rights, education, voting rights, desegregation, and prison reform. I have been honored to work with this organization and pledge my continued support of our shared goals. Each year, the Fairfax County NAACP honors several deserving individuals and organizations that have shown extraordinary support of the Branch or the community. I am honored to submit the names of the following award winners: President’s Awardees: Cassie Marcotty, Abby Conde, Anna Rowan, Lidia Amanuel, and Marley Finley. These high school student leaders formed “Students of Change,” now known as CAALM (an acronym of their initials), to spearhead the initiative to rename JEB Stuart High School as Thurgood Marshall High and to remove all symbols and mascots that honor the Confederate Legacy. The President’s Award will also be presented to Virginia House of Delegates member Scott A. Surovell of the 44th District, for his exceptional leadership and support to the communities of Hybla Valley and Gum Springs in southern Fairfax County. Community Service Awardees: Debbie Kilpatrick for her exceptional leadership, advocacy, and dedication as President of the Fairfax County Council of PTAs. Celeste Peterson for establishing the Erin Peterson Scholarship Fund and her devotion to the Young Men’s Leadership Group at Westfield High School. Mr. Speaker, I ask my colleagues to join me in congratulating the 2015 honorees of the Fairfax County NAACP and in thanking them for their tremendous contributions to our youth and our community."
Focusing On Working Families October 28, 2015
Bonnie Watson Coleman, D-NJ
"This body has voted four times in support of the Confederate battle flag, but we have taken no votes on legislation that will level the playing field for working Americans. This body has voted against a solid, long-term transportation and infrastructure bill five times, and we have taken no votes on legislation to boost American wages. This body has voted countless times to undermine the Affordable Care Act or endanger women’s access to health care, but we have taken no votes on legislation to help families balance the needs of work and their personal lives. That is in spite of statements from Members like the Republican nominee for Speaker who just last week indicated he wouldn’t run for the position unless he would be allowed to set aside time to spend with his family."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party