Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14
  11. '16

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Congratulating Outstanding High School Artists Of New Jersey’S 9Th Congressional District May 19, 2010
Rodney Frelinghuysen, R-NJ
"Oak Knoll School: Christina Eng’s “Capitol Building in Winter”; Gioia Topazio’s “Leaves”."
A Tribute To Michael Keller April 13, 2010
Edolphus Towns, D-NY
"When he isn’t spending time at the Y, Mike volunteers his time in other youth related programs and activities. He is a coach in the Gioia YMCA baseball and basketball leagues, and has served as an Assistant Scoutmaster for his local Boy Scout Troop. Additionally, Mike is currently a member of the Queensborough Rotary Club and has served as president of a number of Rotary and Kiwanis Clubs as well as other community organizations. Mike is a native of the Bronx and has a BA in English from Brooklyn College. He resides in Harlem with his wife, four children and grandson."
Honoring The National Endowment For The Arts December 10, 2008
Ray LaHood, R-IL
"The NEA Jazz Masters program has expanded exponentially under the leadership of Chairman Dana Gioia. Designed to honor the best and most innovative jazz musicians and advocates, the Jazz Masters award has become the nation’s highest honor in jazz. An NEA Jazz Masters on Tour commenced, and a curriculum was developed for high school teachers—NEA Jazz in the Schools—celebrating the story of jazz in a classroom-friendly format for music, civics, social studies, and U.S. history classes. The agency has produced a special commemorative recording of the music of 27 Jazz Masters, developed with National Public Radio a series of documentaries profiling honorees, and launched on public television the “Legends of Jazz” program—a series of conversations with Jazz Masters."
In Honor Of The Service Of National Endowment For The Arts Chairman Dana Gioia November 20, 2008
Louise Slaughter, D-NY
"Madam Speaker, I rise today to recognize and laud Dana Gioia‘s service as Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts. Since 2003 when he began his service, Chairman Gioia has played a vital role in advancing America’s cultural vitality and economic prosperity by promoting and expanding access to the arts. As a co-Chair of the Congressional Arts Caucus, I am grateful for Chairman Gioia‘s efforts and look forward to his future contributions to the arts in America after he leaves the NEA in January 2009."
Executive Session October 2, 2008
Harry Reid, D-NV
"Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the Senate proceed to executive session to consider Calendar Nos. 695, 758, 759, 762, 763, 764, 767 to and including 770, 776, 777, 778, 785, 786, 787, 788, 789, 790 to and including 804, 807 to and including 812, all nominations on the Secretary’s Desk in the Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, and Navy; that the Commerce Committee be discharged of PN2090, Coast Guard promotions; that the HELP Committee be discharged of the following: for membership on the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission: PN1828, Mary Lucille Jordan, and PN1976 Michael Young; for membership on the National Council on Disability: PN1503 Katherine O. McCary; PN1509 Chad Colley; PN1510 Victoria Ray Carlson; PN1511 Tony J. Williams; PN1512 John R. Vaughn; PN1761 Marlyn Andrea Howe; PN1762 Lonnie C. Moore; PN1763 Heather McCallum; for membership on the Board of Trustees of the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation: PN1687 John J. Faso; PN1688 Joe Manchin III; PN1689 Harvey M. Tettlebaum; for membership on the Board of Trustees of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation: PN1977 Dave Heineman; for membership on the National Science Board, National Science Foundation: PN2023 Esin Gulari; PN2025 Diane Souvaine; for membership on the National Council on the Arts: PN2102 JoAnn Falletta and PN2103 Lee Greenwood; that the Finance Committee be discharged of PN2017, Edwin Eck, Internal Revenue Service Oversight Board; that the Foreign Relations Committee be discharged of the following: to serve as a U.S. Representative to the U.N. General Assembly: PN2055 Anthony H. Gioia and PN2056 Karen Elliott House; PN1751 James Franklin Jeffrey to be Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service; for various foreign service officers, consular officers and career members of the senior foreign service: PN1991, PN1998, PN1999 and PN2000; that the Judiciary Committee be discharged of PN1703 Dennis Michael Klein; that the Senate proceed to their consideration, en bloc; that the nominations be confirmed, en bloc; the motions to reconsider be laid upon the table, en bloc; that no further motions be in order; and that any statements relating to the nominations be printed in the Record; provided further that the President be immediately notified of the Senate’s action and the Senate return to legislative session."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party