Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '15

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Defending Public Safety Employees’ Retirement Act June 24, 2015
Ron Wyden, D-OR
"I also want to take a moment to build on what I discussed yesterday with respect to the Democratic priorities that my colleagues and I are going to fight for in conference. This stems from an important point made by our colleague from North Dakota Senator Heitkamp, who said we really need to go into this Customs conference with some markers—some strong markers that lay out a path for some of our priorities with respect to enforcing the Customs law."
Export-Import Bank June 4, 2015
Ron Wyden, D-OR
"Mr. President, we have had a number of our colleagues come to the floor to talk about the importance of the Export-Import Bank, and I want to see if I can put in context the exceptionally important work done by our colleagues Senator Cantwell and Senator Heitkamp on this issue."
Ensuring Tax Exempt Organizations The Right To Appeal Act—Continued May 19, 2015
Elizabeth Warren, D-MA
"Mr. President, I join with Senator Heitkamp, Senator Manchin, and a number of other Senators to propose a simple change to the fast-track bill, a change that would prevent Congress from using this expedited process on any trade deal that includes so-called investor-state dispute settlement provisions. I come to the floor to urge my colleagues to support this amendment."
Ensuring Tax Exempt Organizations The Right To Appeal Act May 19, 2015
Debbie Stabenow, D-MI
"We have strong bipartisan support for this amendment. I wish to thank Senators Brown and Warren, Senators Burr and Casey and Schumer, Senators Graham, Shaheen, Manchin, Klobuchar, Collins, Baldwin, Hirono, Franken, Menendez, and Heitkamp for understanding and supporting this amendment. We have other support as well. I wish to thank Senator Graham. He made a comment, because we care deeply—we were so pleased to get the Schumer-Graham-Brown-Stabenow and others’ efforts in the Customs bill related to China and currency, which is so important and which we also need to get all the way to the President’s desk. But we know that if we don’t put language in the negotiating document we give to the White House, then we are not really serious. Senator Graham said: This amendment is the real deal. That is firing with real bullets."
Protecting Volunteer Firefighters And Emergency Responders Act April 23, 2015
Bob Corker, R-TN
"When we began this process, there were some original—or when we moved to the process we are now in, there were some original supporters of this current bipartisan bill who really caused us to have the leverage, if you will, to move to the place where we are today. Again, Senator Menendez certainly was one of those who led us in that effort; Senator Graham; Senator Tim Kaine, who came here as a former Governor of Virginia and who has been so focused on Congress playing its appropriate role. Obviously, Senator McCain, as he has been a leader from the beginning, Senator Joe Donnelly, Senator Marco Rubio, Senator Heidi Heitkamp, Senator Kelly Ayotte, Senator Bill Nelson, Senator Jim Risch, and Senator Angus King have played a role in creating the leverage, if you will, to get us where we are today."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party