Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14
  11. '16

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Rhode Island’S Marine Economy February 4, 2013
Sheldon Whitehouse, D-RI
"Mr. President, today I wish to pay tribute to one of my State’s great traditions and to a wonderful man. The Herreshoff Marine Museum, founded in 1971, preserves today the history of one our State’s most important economic and design legacies, the Herreshoff boat building company of Bristol."
Jim Muldoon December 18, 2010
Steny Hoyer, D-MD
"In October, US SAILING awarded Mr. Muldoon its most prestigious award, the Nathanael G. Herreshoff trophy, for his outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing in the U.S. over many years. Since being founded in 1897, U.S. SAILING has been the national governing body (NGB) for sailing and provides leadership for the sport in the United States. Past winners of the Herreshoff trophy have included Harold Sterling Vanderbilt, Harry C. Melges Jr., Gary Jobson, and Roy E. Disney."
Saluting The One Hundredth Anniversary Of Forest Hills Gardens In Queens, Ny And The Rededication Of The Community’S Flagpole October 1, 2009
Anthony Weiner, D-NY
"A ship whose history is inextricably tied with New York’s, the Columbia was designed by Nathanael Herreshoff and launched in 1899 by J.P. Morgan for the New York Yacht Club. It was sailed in the cold and choppy waters of New York Harbor by Captain Charlie Barr to two glorious victories against Great Britain and retired to New York’s own little port at City Island in 1913."
Tribute To Bill Martin April 4, 2005
Carl Levin, D-MI
"He has been awarded numerous awards including the U.S. Olympic Committee Award for outstanding service to the U.S. Olympic Committee and America’s athletes, the Nathanial G. Herreshoff Trophy for outstanding contribution to the sport of sailing, the Bob Ufer Distinguished M Club Award, and “Ann Arbor News’ Citizen of the Year for his service and contributions to the community."
On The 1999-2000 America’S Cup October 18, 1999
John Chafee, R-RI
"During these years, a great many Rhode Islanders stood out and earned outstanding reputations in this sport. Most notably, Nathanael Greene Herreshoff, “The Wizard of Bristol,” joined his visually impaired brother in the manufacture of boats and went on to design six successful America’s Cup defenders—Vigilant (in 1893), Defender (1895), Columbia (1899 and 1901), Reliance (1903) and Resolute (1920). In addition, the celebrated sailmaker and designer Ted Hood had more to do with the development of the America’s Cup from the 1950’s to the 1970’s than any other person. Hood also won the Cup, helming Courageous in 1974."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party