Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '15

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Recognizing The Tyler Junior College Apaches’ 2015 Njcaa Division Iii World Series Championship July 16, 2015
Louie Gohmert, R-TX
"The exceptionally talented, resolute, relentless national championship team is comprised of Zane Ancell, Austin Ballew, Cody Brown (Tournament MVP), Landon Brune, Jace Campbell, Derek Clemons (Tournament Elite Hitter & All-Tournament Team), Aaron Clemons (All-Tournament Team), Michael Crews, Manny Galvan, Jonathan Groff, Jacob Hickman, Chantz Holland, Tim Hunter, Jimmy Johnson, Garrett Johnston, Alex Masotto (All-Tournament Team), AJ Merkel, Chandler Muckleroy, Brady O’Borski, Zane Otten, Jared Pauley, Gunnar Quick, Reese Read, Taylor Rich, Drew Robertson, Adan Ross, Reid Russell, Sam Sitton, Weston Smart, Travis Smith, Brady Usherwood, Jace Vines, and Brandon Webb (All-Tournament Team). Of course, every great team needs assistance to round out and hold them together as a team and keep them physically on the field playing, and that help came in the very able assistance of Training Staff Eddy McGuire, Jeff Derrick, Spenser Deeken, Lynsee Jistel, and Nathan Tanaka; and Student Support Staff consisting of Chad Cunningham and Justin Doelitsch."
Recognizing The 2015 Officers Of The Occoquan Woodbridge Lorton Volunteer Fire Department July 13, 2015
Gerald Connolly, D-VA
"Mr. Speaker, I rise to recognize the 2015 Officers of the Occoquan Woodbridge Lorton Volunteer Fire Department. The 2015 officers and members of the board of directors are taking leadership roles in one of Northern Virginia’s longest standing volunteer fire departments. The O.W.L. Volunteer Fire Department was created to address the need for organized fire response capabilities in the growing suburbs of Northern Virginia. Organized in 1938 and chartered in 1940, the Department officially formed to become the only fire department between Fredericksburg and Alexandria. In the subsequent decades O.W.L. has expanded to staff three stations and provide emergency medical services. The members of O.W.L. are dedicated community volunteers, and the 2015 officers and directors will be diligent stewards of this tradition of service. The 250 active O.W.L. members answer 14,000 calls and serve 60,000 people each year. Their job is demanding and the hours are long, but these brave men and women are driven by their dedication to public safety and the communities that they serve. We would all do well to follow their example. I congratulate and commend the following 2015 incoming officers: Department Chief: James F. McAllister Fire Assistant Chiefs: Kurt Bolland, Michael Clark, Steve Godin, Wayne Haight, and Dave Williams EMS Assistant Chief: Edward A. Craig Fire Captains: Jonathan Baldwin, Joshua Culp, Tony Carroll, Tim LeClercq, Ryan Williams, and Justin Witt EMS Captain: Diana Ondra Fire Lieutenants: Lindsey Blasius, Jesus Castro, Mark Chandler, Jon Colpitts, Jonathan Holland, Billy Moore, Kody Perry, and Stewart Young EMS Lieutenants: Chad Fritz, Tammy Hill, Aaron Hope, Cynthia Thackwray, and Sandra Williams Mr. Speaker, I ask that my colleagues join me in congratulating these remarkable volunteers on their new leadership positions, and in thanking all the members of the Occoquan Woodbridge Lorton Volunteer Fire Department for the vital service they provide to the Prince William County community."
In Honor Of The Greater Tomball Area Chamber Of Commerce July 8, 2015
Kevin Brady, R-TX
"Those men and women have been supported by a tremendous group of Chamber executives including Pete Still, Doris Johnson, Diane Holland and Bruce Hillegeist."
Mayor Kurt D. Dykstra June 12, 2015
Bill Huizenga, R-MI
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize the Honorable Kurt D. Dykstra and his commendable service to the City of Holland as its 40th Mayor."
In Special Recognition Of Alexander Mossing On His Offer Of Appointment To Attend The United States Air Force Academy June 1, 2015
Robert Latta, R-OH
"Mr. Speaker, it is my great pleasure to pay special tribute to an outstanding student from Ohio’s Fifth Congressional District. I am pleased to announce that Alexander Mossing of Holland, Ohio has been offered an appointment to the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colorado."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party