Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '15

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Recognizing Karen Ratzow April 23, 2015
Robert Aderholt, R-AL
"Mr. Speaker, I would like to recognize the tremendous work of Karen Ratzow who has been on detail with the House Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee for the past year. Karen has been detailed to the Subcommittee from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service’s Budget Office. Karen has not only been invaluable to the Subcommittee’s work this past year, but she has been diligent, had a tremendous work ethic, and very knowledgeable of the budget process. Karen is always eager to volunteer and lend a hand to whatever task may be needed. She quickly became an integral part of the team and she will certainly be missed."
National Day Of Silence April 16, 2015
Sam Farr, D-CA
"I am proud of students who stand up against bullying, students like Karen Jimenez of Aptos, California, who said: “Identity extends further than our physical selves, so when expression of identity becomes restricted, it’s similar to having chains placed on your home.”"
Instrumental Leadership April 16, 2015
Pete Olson, R-TX
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate two of Alvin Community College’s (ACC) outstanding faculty members, Dr. Lynda Vern and Ms. Karen Downey, who were recently named recipients of the John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Award during the League for Innovation in the Community College Conference in Boston. This award recognizes outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff."
Honoring Paul Torgersen April 16, 2015
Morgan Griffith, R-VA
"Paul is predeceased by his wife of 60 years, Dorothea Torgersen. He is survived by two daughters Karen Torgersen (Mike Boyd), of Blacksburg, VA, Janis Torgersen, of Oxford, NC; and a son James Torgersen (Lynda), of Claytor Lake, VA; six grandchildren, Lindsay Nalevanko, Bryan Reisch, Erin Reisch, Michael Reisch, Paul Torgersen, Samantha McElwee; and two great-grandchildren, Isabelle and Collin Nalevanko."
Justice For Victims Of Trafficking Act Of 2015—Continued April 16, 2015
Tim Kaine, D-VA
"Ross Alameddine, Jamie Bishop, Brian Bluhm, Ryan Clark, Austin Michelle Cloyd, Jocelyne Couture-Nowak, Daniel Alejandro Perez Cueva, Kevin Granata, Matthew Gwaltney, Caitlin Hammaren, Jeremy Herbstritt, Rachael Elizabeth Hill, Emily Hilscher, Jarrett Lane, Matthew La Porte, Henry Lee, Liviu Librescu, G.V. Loganathan, Partahi Mamora Halomoan Lumbantoruan, Lauren McCain, Daniel O’Neil, Juan Ramon Ortiz, Minal Panchal, Erin Peterson, Michael Pohle, Julia Pryde, Mary Karen Read, Reema Samaha, Waleed Mohammed Shaalan, Leslie Sherman, Maxine Turner, and Nicole White."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party