Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '15

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Tribute To Mark Powden January 29, 2015
Sherrod Brown, D-OH
"Mark, as I said, has served as my chief of staff for more than 6 years now and will move over and be the staff director for the banking committee. At the same time, he will take with him Graham Steele, who served ably as my legislative assistant, and will also take his assistant Megan Cheney to the banking committee. Graham will be chief counsel, and Megan will be a legislative aide in the Senate banking committee."
International Megan’S Law To Prevent Demand For Child Sex Trafficking January 26, 2015
Christopher Smith, R-NJ
"Mr. Speaker, there is no higher duty or responsibility of government than to protect children from violence and predatory behavior. We have a duty to protect the weakest and the most vulnerable. The International Megan‘s Law to Prevent Demand for Child Sex Trafficking, H.R. 515, will protect children from child sex tourism by notifying destination countries when convicted pedophiles plan to travel. And to protect American children, the bill encourages the President to use bilateral agreements and assistance to establish reciprocal notification so we will know when convicted child sex offenders are coming here."
Combating Human Trafficking January 26, 2015
Kristi Noem, R-SD
"I turn next to the gentleman from New Jersey (Mr. Smith), who is a longtime advocate for human rights and for the alleviation of human suffering. He is the sponsor of International Megan‘s Law, which cracks down on the practice of sex tourism. He is also sponsor of the Human Trafficking Prioritization Act, which will make sure that our government gives human trafficking the top priority it deserves in our diplomacy with other countries."
Penn State University Women’S Volleyball January 26, 2015
Patrick Toomey, R-PA
"Special congratulations go to Junior Megan Courtney who was selected as the 2014 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player and to Freshman Ali Frantti, who earned AVCA DI National Freshman of the Year honors."
Honoring David R. Shedd January 20, 2015
Devin Nunes, R-CA
"Mr. Speaker, while the Intelligence Community will be losing a leader who has answered the call time and again at critical points in our nation’s history, I know David will be happy to spend more time with his wife Lisa and their sons Jeremy and DJ, as well as DJ’s wife Megan. Despite giving so much to the nation during his remarkable career, David always ensured that he was an exemplary husband and father as well as a devoted son. On behalf of a grateful nation and my colleagues in the U.S. Congress, I thank David and his family for his many years of faithful service and a job well done, and I wish him the very best of luck in his future endeavors as a teacher and speaker, and in his charitable endeavors that are so close to his heart."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party