Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14
  11. '16

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Tribute To Betty Russell Vandiver November 19, 2015
David Perdue, R-GA
"Mr. President, I am pleased today to recognize Betty Russell Vandiver, wife of former Gov. Ernest Vandiver, who served as first lady of Georgia from 1959 to 1963. When Mrs. Vandiver became first lady, Central State Hospital in Milledgeville served as Georgia’s only State hospital for the mentally ill and developmentally disabled. In the late 1950s, Central State Hospital was home to more than 12,000 clients, many of whom had been abandoned by their families at an early age."
Tribute To Georgia Military College November 12, 2014
Paul Broun, R-GA
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate Georgia Military College as it celebrates its 135th anniversary. I take great pride in representing this historic institution, comprised of a junior college and a separate preparatory school, located in scenic Milledgeville, Georgia."
In Recognition Of The Milledgeville Missiles Softball Team June 6, 2013
Cheri Bustos, D-IL
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize the outstanding results achieved by the Milledgeville Missiles against the Toledo Cumberland Pirates in the 1A Illinois state softball championship game on June 1st, 2013. The game was a back and forth battle between two worthy opponents, which ultimately ended in a 5-4 rain-shortened victory this past Saturday. The Missiles struck first with a three-run homerun in the bottom of the first inning, staking Milledgeville to a 3-0 lead. Toledo Cumberland battled back for a 4-3 advantage, but the Missiles were resilient and were able to retake the lead 5-4 for the final time. I congratulate the Missiles for winning the Illinois 1A state championship. This hard fought victory by Milledgeville gives the school its first state title in school history. The school and the entire community should be extremely proud of the effort put forth by Milledgeville, which concluded the season with a record of 28-3. Mr. Speaker, I am extremely proud of the accomplishments of the Milledgeville softball team, both on and off the field, and I am honored to salute them today. "
Congratulating Major General Peter J. Boylan September 21, 2012
Paul Broun, R-GA
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to honor and congratulate Major General Peter J. Boylan who is celebrating his twentieth year as President of Georgia Military College (GMC), and is the longest serving President of the college since its founding in 1879. General Boylan has worked wonders for GMC as he is responsible for restoring the reputation and financial stability of the school, which is now ranked one of the best community colleges in the nation. Through his unwavering determination, he planned and secured funding to rebuild and renovate every structure on the GMC-Milledgeville campus, made possible the addition of previously non-existent athletic fields and facilities, and renovated, relocated, or established-as-new every GMC distant learning and extension center in the state."
In Memory Of Raymond C. Singletary, Jr. September 22, 2011
Sanford Bishop, D-GA
"He is survived by a daughter, Anne S. Hammack and her husband Albert of Dalton, Ga.; a daughter-in-law, Henrietta Singletary of Albany, Ga.; a sister, Emily S. Garner of Milledgeville, Ga.; 5 grandchildren: James Albert Hammack, III and wife Elizabeth of Atlanta, Ga; Margaret H. Long and husband Jason of Atlanta, Ga; McArthur Singletary and Duncan Singletary, both of St. Simmons Island, Fl. and Raymond Singletary of Atlanta, Ga.; 2 great-grandchildren: James Albert Hammack IV and Mary Moore Hammack of Atlanta, Ga."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party