Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

ohio state university

Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Recognizing Dr. Joseph A. Alluto June 17, 2014
Steve Stivers, R-OH
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize Dr. Joseph A. Alluto for his service as the interim president of The Ohio State University."
Awarding Congressional Gold Medal To Jack Nicklaus May 19, 2014
Joyce Beatty, D-OH
"Mr. Speaker, I rise today in support of H.R. 2203, sponsored by Congressman Pat Tiberi, awarding the Congressional Gold Medal to Columbus, Ohio, native Jack Nicklaus. Jack Nicklaus—an alumni of Ohio State University—is a world-famous professional golfer who has amassed 120 victories in professional tournaments worldwide."
Morning Business March 10, 2014
Christopher Coons, D-DE
"There are lots of other arguments, perhaps, as to why these two particular glaciers have retreated, but I still remember hearing a presentation at the University of Delaware by Dr. Lonnie Thompson of Ohio State University, a glaciologist who presented a very broad and I thought very compelling case based on ice cores for the actual advance of climate change over many decades."
Climate Change March 4, 2014
Sheldon Whitehouse, D-RI
"South America’s Andean glaciers are retreating at an amazing rate. Climatologists from Ohio State University and NASA loaned my office a piece of a plant that had been preserved under the Quelccaya icecap in Peru for at least 5,200 years, a little bitty piece of plant. But under the pressure of the ice and the cold, it had been preserved for 52 centuries. Today, due to glacial retreat, it was exposed and I now have that piece of plant in my office."
Honoring 2013 Fellows Of The National Academy Of Inventors February 11, 2014
Kathy Castor, D-FL
"Christos Christodoulatos, Stevens Institute of Technology; Benjamin Chu, Stony Brook University; Aaron J. Ciechanover, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology; Graeme M. Clark, The University of Melbourne; Leon N. Cooper, Brown University; Carlo M. Croce, The Ohio State University; William W. Cruikshank, Boston University; Brian T. Cunningham, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Jerome J. Cuomo, North Carolina State University; Narendra Dahotre, University of North Texas; William S. Dalton, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center; Rathindra DasGupta, National Science Foundation; Paul L. DeAngelis, The University of Oklahoma; William F. DeGrado, University of California, San Francisco; Peter J. Delfyett, University of Central Florida; Lawrence J. DeLucas, The University of Alabama at Birmingham; Steven P. DenBaars, University of California, Santa Barbara; Joseph M. DeSimone, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Spiros S. Dimolitsas, Georgetown University; Michael P. Doyle, The University of Georgia."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party