Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and


Compare rosa

Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
American Jobs November 19, 2014
Louise Slaughter, D-NY
"Food safety is a real crucial issue. One of my colleagues, Rosa DeLauro, said that when you read about delta shrimp, you are probably reading about the Mekong Delta shrimp. The food safety issue is so bad, as we understand it in this trade bill, that if we cause them to lose any money when they bring in bad fish—which, in the first place, frankly, is not tested nearly enough when it comes in—or anything else that causes them to have any economic cost, they can sue us."
National Adoption Month November 19, 2014
Mary Landrieu, D-LA
"I want to also give a special shout-out to Senator Blunt, who has a child and who is very engaged in this issue, and he has really stepped up. He has a child who was adopted, as do I and as do other Members who have adopted children or grandchildren. Rosa DeLauro has been a remarkable leader in the House. Her grandchild was adopted from Guatemala. She has become an extraordinary voice. Susan Bonamici, the Congresswoman from Oregon, has also been a great leader. And I just can’t say again how happy I am that Amy Klobuchar has been here to help."
Honoring Mr. Timothy Crudup November 12, 2014
Bennie Thompson, D-MS
"In 1952, Mr. Crudup began his teaching career in the Madison County School System and remained with this school system until his retirement in 1985. His first position was as a high school teacher at the Farmhaven High School in Farmhaven, MS. After teaching for one year, his leadership abilities were recognized, and he was offered the position of principal of that school. Later the school was relocated to a new school building with the name changed to Luther Branson. He continued to serve as principal in that community for 14 years. Then he was asked to accept the principal position at Rosa Scott High School, in Madison, MS, where he served in that position for 19 years, retiring in 1985."
Commemorating The 50Th Anniversary Of The West Florida Regional Planning Council November 12, 2014
Jeff Miller, R-FL
"Mr. Speaker, it is my privilege to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the West Florida Regional Planning Council and recognize its significant impact and contributions to Northwest Florida. The West Florida Regional Planning Council was established in 1964 as the Pensacola-Escambia County Regional Council when the need of transportation planning and coordination was recognized. As the third regional planning council to have been formed in the State of Florida, it has since grown to also include Bay, Holmes, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton, and Washington Counties and their municipalities. In addition to transportation planning, the Council today provides a forum to engage its members in regional planning, comprehensive economic development strategic planning, emergency preparedness planning, environmental planning and education, and intergovernmental review. Furthermore, the Council provides assistance in grant-writing, project management, technical planning, and data analysis. Due to its collaborative nature, the Council naturally recognizes the importance of an all-of-community and region approach. To that end, it welcomes and encourages citizens throughout the Gulf Coast to become engaged in the process to actively address and solve problems of the growing region. Over the past five decades, the Council has dedicated their efforts to preserving and enhancing the quality of life in Northwest Florida. Their contributions have helped ensure that the Emerald Coast remains a top tourist destination and a place where thousands live like millions wish they could. Mr. Speaker, on behalf of the United States Congress, it gives me great pleasure to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the West Florida Regional Planning Council. My wife Vicki joins me in thanking all of its members for their devotion to service and wishing them and the Council all the best for continued success."
Recognizing The Dedicated Service Of Northwest Florida’S Deborah “Dee” Copeland November 12, 2014
Jeff Miller, R-FL
"Mr. Speaker, I am privileged to recognize Ms. Deborah “Dee” Copeland upon the occasion of her retirement. For 42 years, Ms. Copeland has dedicated her career to educating our Nation’s youth and serving the Gulf Coast community. A graduate of Belhaven College in Jackson, Mississippi, Ms. Copeland began teaching at Mowat Junior High School in Panama City, Florida, in 1972. Eight years later, she joined the faculty at King Middle School in Milton, Florida, where she has established herself as a leader amongst the great educators in Northwest Florida and where she teaches today, chairs the History/Civics Department, and is the Student Government Association Advisor. For over four decades, Ms. Copeland has inspired the minds of our Nation’s youth, and her innovative techniques have brought unique learning opportunities and experiences to her students. Whether organizing an annual visit to Tallahassee, the state capital, to engage her students in the legislative process, sponsoring an annual Veteran’s Day program to honor area veterans and first responders and educate her students on the contributions and sacrifice of our men and women in uniform, or building pyramids and volcanoes, Ms. Copeland’s passion for teaching is demonstrated through each of her tireless efforts in making learning enjoyable and bringing it to life. Her dedication and service, however, is not confined to her classroom at King Middle School. Ms. Copeland teaches hospital homebound students in the evenings as well as Sunday School at her local church. She has also organized and sponsored countless events, including the Ronald McDonald House Easter Basket to benefit Sacred Heart Children’s Hospital in Pensacola, Florida; a Thanksgiving food basket drive to provide for the needy; a blanket giveaway for our area’s homeless and to support low-income families; and Meet-the-Candidate breakfasts during election years to afford an additional opportunity to her students and the local community to participate in the democratic process. Her involvement in the classroom and throughout the community has not gone unnoticed. As a result of her commitment to excellence and service, Ms. Copeland has received myriad awards, including the Alpha Delta Kappa Educator of the Year in 2012, the Governor’s Award in Education, the International Award ISTE Ana Mackay-Gutierrez Award for Community Giving, the Santa Rosa County Volunteer of the Year in 2006, the Veteran’s State Teacher of the Year in 2007, and the King Middle School “Teacher of the Year” award three times throughout her tenure. Mr. Speaker, I am proud to recognize Ms. Deborah “Dee” Copeland for her lifetime of achievements and dedication to the Northwest Florida community. My wife Vicki joins me in wishing Ms. Copeland all the best for continued success in her well-earned retirement and thanking her for her service."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party