Capitol Words a project of the Sunlight Foundation

  • and

Occurrences over time

  • Embed Dark
  • Embed Light
  1. '96
  2. '98
  3. '00
  4. '02
  5. '04
  6. '06
  7. '08
  8. '10
  9. '12
  10. '14

Mentioned most often by

Occurrences in the Congressional Record

Entry Title Date
Protecting Volunteer Firefighters And Emergency Responders Act Of 2014—Motion To Proceed March 26, 2014
Mitch McConnell, R-KY
"Quite a change it will be. It is hard to imagine the McConnell office without Rochelle. She is the fourth longest serving staffer in the history of my office. When she retires next Friday, she will have 9,140 days of continuous service. In fact, the three longest serving staffers still in my office are all women who have more than 25 years of service each; field assistant Sue Tharp, archivist Nan Mosher, and Rochelle."
Honoring John Bradley Tharp September 17, 2013
Sam Graves, R-MO
"Mr. Speaker, I proudly pause to recognize John Bradley Tharp. John is a very special young man who has exemplified the finest qualities of citizenship and leadership by taking an active part in the Boy Scouts of America, Troop 249, and earning the most prestigious award of Eagle Scout. John has been very active with his troop, participating in many scout activities. Over the many years John has been involved with scouting, he has not only earned numerous merit badges, but also the respect of his family, peers, and community. Most notably, John has earned the rank of Foxman in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say and led his troop as Senior Patrol Leader. John has also contributed to his community through his Eagle Scout project. John installed erosion breaks and provided needed trail maintenance on a three-mile walking trail in Weston Bend State Park in Weston, Missouri. This trail is used by 25,000 people annually and is a major attraction in Platte County. Mr. Speaker, I proudly ask you to join me in commending John Bradley Tharp for his accomplishments with the Boy Scouts of America and for his efforts put forth in achieving the highest distinction of Eagle Scout."
Nomination Of George Levi Russell Iii, To Be United States District Judge For The District Of Maryland May 14, 2012
Mark Kirk, R-IL
"Mr. President, I wish to offer my strong endorsement for the nomination of John “Jay” Tharp to the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois."
Export-Import Bank Reauthorization Act Of 2012—Motion To Proceed May 14, 2012
Harry Reid, D-NV
"At 4:30 today the Senate will proceed to executive session to consider two U.S. district judges from Maryland and Illinois. At 5:30 there will be up to three rollcall votes. The first two will be on confirmation of George Levi Russell and John J. Tharp, and the third will be on cloture on the motion to proceed to the Ex-Im Bank bill."
Program May 10, 2012
Sheldon Whitehouse, D-RI
"At 4:30 p.m., there will be an hour of debate on the Russell and Tharp nominations."

Popularity by state

Popularity by party